Home APPG British Turks&Kurds All-Party Parliamentary Group on British Turks and Kurds Inaugural Meeting
All-Party Parliamentary Group on British Turks and Kurds Inaugural Meeting

All-Party Parliamentary Group on British Turks and Kurds Inaugural Meeting


All-Party Parliamentary Group on British Turks and Kurds inaugural meeting took place on 21st February 2018 in Committee Room 17 of the House of Commons.

The Centre for Turkey Studies (CEFTUS) has been appointed as secretariat.

Dan Carden MP has been elected as Chair of the APPG British Turks and Kurds. David Warburton MP, Catherine West MP, Sir David Amess MP, Tom Brake MP, Brendan O’Hara, Lord Glasman and Lord Watts have been elected as Vice-Chairs.

Joan Ryan MP, Tracy Brabin MP, Gerald Jones MP, Grahame Morris MP, Virendra Sharma MP, Fabian Hamilton MP, Chris Williamson MP, Alex Sobel MP, Gareth Thomas MP, Ruth Cadbury MP, Neil Coyle MP, Nick Thomas-Symonds MP, Siobhain McDonagh MP, Mike Hill MP, Baroness Warsi, Baroness Harris and Lord Wallace have become members.

As secretariat of the All Party Parliamentary Group on British Turks and Kurds CEFTUS will:

  • Promote the work of the APPG in Parliament and beyond through traditional and social media
  • Endeavour to keep MPs and Peers informed on relevant topics through regular electronic briefings
  • Work to further links between the Turkish and Kurdish communities and their elected representatives at all levels
  • Provide administrative and technical support where necessary

APPG’s official purpose of statement is as below:

“To encourage debate and engage in discussion about issues affecting Britain’s Turkish and Kurdish communities. To celebrate the contribution and achievements of Britain’s Turkish and Kurdish communities”

In the inaugural meeting Lord Balfe, Member of APPG for the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, Gary Kent, Secretary of the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Kurdistan and Ibrahim Dogus, Director of CEFTUS were in attendance.





Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


CEFTUS is seeking a new Adminstrator

The Centre for Turkey Studies (CEFTUS)  is seeking a new Administrator to help with administrative tasks and event organisation. CEFTUS, which celebrated its 6th anniversary in October 2017, organises public forums and roundtable events, fundraising and networking receptions and awards ceremonies. CEFTUS conducts research projects, closely follows regional politics, and seeks to provide a bridge between […]

CEFTUS 6th Anniversary Booklet (2017)

Please click the link below to download the Centre for Turkey Studies’ 6th Anniversary Booklet (2017), this year featuring a special section on past winners of the Turkish, Kurdish and Turkish Cypriot Community Achievement Awards – Download CEFTUS’ 6th Anniversary Booklet       (167) Related posts: CEFTUS 5th Anniversary Video Community Achievement Awards 2017 […]

CEFTUS now offers internships

Internships The Centre for Turkey Studies (CEFTUS) offers internships throughout the year for people who are interested in gaining practical experience in relations between Turkey and the UK. Internships offered are in areas of communications, events organisation, press relations, fundraising and research. Duration and schedule of internships are designed according to availability and skills of candidates. […]

CEFTUS accredited as London Living Wage employer

The Centre for Turkey Studies (CEFTUS) is delighted to announce that it is now accredited as a London Living Wage employer. From January, the Living Wage commitment will see everyone working at CEFTUS, regardless of whether they are direct employees or third-party contracted staff; receive the newly revised minimum hourly wage of £10.20. This rate […]