Community Achievement Awards 2012



The Centre for Turkey Studies launched by Nick Clegg in London in April 2011 celebrated its 1st anniversary at the famous Park Lane Sheraton Hotel in April 2012. The centre also hosted the first Community Achievement Awards at the event.

The Community Achievement Awards aims to improve solidarity among Turkish, Kurdish and Turkish Cypriot communities as well as promoting successful individuals and institutions as good role models for the younger generations and aspiring new businesses.

The awards ceremony held in April 2012 in Park Lane Sheraton Hotel was attended by a great number of politicians, business people, and representatives of non-governmental organizations. Among them were the Deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg, Baroness Meral Hussein Ece OBE, columnists Cengiz Candar, Ali Bayramoğlu, Amberin Zaman, Hilal Kaplan, and Aykan Erdemir MP for Bursa. The evening hosted more than 500 eminent guests.


The Community Achievement Awards 2011-2012 winners


Dr Teoman Sirri

Faith-based Community Organisations:

Alevi Kultur Merkezi (Centre for Alevi Culture) and Cemevi – Israfil Erbil

Media and Press:

Halil Yetkinoglu


Feryal Demirci

Male Business Role Models:

Tuncel Nalbantoglu, Onder Sahan, Ali Guryel and Ahmet Akdogan

Female Business Role Models:

Sehriban Sonmez, Vildan Yetisal and Handan Ozbek

Arts and Culture:

Cigdem Aslan

Year’s Most Inspiring Educater:

Ertanc Hidayettin and Turker Cakici

Sports Person of the Year: 

Turgut Esendagli

Most Inspiring Non-Profit Organsation:

IMECE Women’s centre and DERMAN (an organisation that provides services for the well-being of Turkish and Kurdish communities)

Life Achievement Awards – Senior Role Model:

Nafiz Bostanci

Business of the Year Award

Turkish Food Centre – Huseyin Ucar


Jury Special Awards

Nural Ezel, Sabire Camgoz, Mustafa Kemal Beyazit and Ali Gul Ozbek




Comments are closed.