British Kebab Awards Winners Revealed



22 January 2013


The winners of the British Kebab Awards received their awards at a ceremony held in the British Parliament. The inaugural event sponsored by the Docklands Academy London was organised by the British Kebab and Retail Awards.

22 business owners and managers from different cities of Britain were shortlisted for the awards. Representatives of the communities, business people and 50 members of the House of Commons and the House of Lords attended the awards ceremony hosted by the Conservative MP Nadhim Zawahi at the parliament.

Nadhim Zawahi MP spoke at the event which was presented by Asli Ozen. Zawahi stated that he was delighted to be the host of such an event which will improve the kebab industry’s social and financial contributions to the society. He added that it is estimated that the industry employs more than 150,000 people.

Following Nadim Zawahi’s speech, Ozgur Heval Cinar, Principal/Director of Docklands Academy, talked about the work of the Academy and expressed that they were proud to be the sponsor of the British Kebab Awards.

Vice-Chairman of the Conservative Party, Alok Sharma MP, stated in his speech that the small and medium-sized businesses contribute greatly to the British economy and that he believes the British Kebab Awards is significant in terms of improving the kebab industry and making the industry’s contributions visible in the UK economy.

Labour MPs Sadiq Khan and Keith Vaz remarked in their speeches that the awards has filled a gap and that the kebab industry has become an indispensable part of the British life. They added that they are ready to support the industry and the British Kebab Awards in the future.


The full list of the British Kebab Awards winners can be found below:


British Kebab & Retail Awards


Best Kebab Businesses of the year 2013 Winners


1- The Best Turkish Kebab

125 Stoke Newington Road, London N16 8BT

2- The Alternative Takeaway

35 High Street, Wigton, Cumbria CA7 9NJ

3-Best Kebab

73-75 Town Centre, Middle Street, Consett County Durham DH8 5QG

4-The Family Kebab House

1 Kingsway House, Smithfield Street, Salisbury Wiltshire SP4 7AL

5- Turkish Delight

573 Barlow Moor Road, Chorlton-cum-Hardy, Manchester M21 8AE

6-Archway Kebab

26 Junction Road, Upper Holloway London N19 5RE

7- Lahore Kebab House

2-10 Umberston Street London, Greater London E1 1PY

8-Antepliler Restaurant

139 Upper Street, London N1 1QP

9-Marmaris Restaurant

4-5 Newmarket Row Bath BA2 4AN

10-Istanbul Kebab House

19 Upper Tooting Road, SW17 7TS


Best-Related Business within the Catering Industry


  • Veli’s Doner Kebab Manufacturer (Wholesale) Ltd
  • Kismet Kebabs Ltd
  • Star Catering Supplies Ltd


Outstanding Contribution to the Kebab Industry


  • Efes 2 Restaurant

175-177 Great Portland Street, London W1W 5PJ



British Kebab & Retail Awards


Best Kebab Shops of the year 2013 Finalists


1- Vadi Restaurant

430-434 Green Lanes, Palmers Green, London, N13 5XG

2- Best Kebab

178 Holdenhurst Road, Bournemouth, BH8 8AS.

3- Istanbul BBQ Kebab House

154  Hoe Street, Walthamstow London E17 4QH

4- Capital Restaurant

271 Fore Street, London, N9 0PD

5- Bar 10

10 Silver Street, EN1 3ED

6- Kebabish Original

221 London Road, Reading, Berkshire RG1 3NZ

7- Town Kebab House

496, Doncaster Road, Barnsley, South Yorkshire S70 3PH

8- Ali Baba

61 London Road, Town Centre, Southend-on-Sea, Essex SS1 1PF


Fifty members of the House of Commons and House of Lords attended the event hosted by Nadhim Zawahi MP. Please find the list of the MPs below.


1-   Virendra Sharma

2-   Nick De Bois

3-   David Burrowes

4-   Nadhim Zahawi

5-   Alok Sharma

6-  Eric Ollerenshaw

7-   Diane Abbott

8-   Meg Hillier

9-   Andy Love

10-  Angie Bray

11-   Jim McGovern

12-   Alun Cairns

13-   Stephen Mcpartland

14-   Andrew Griffiths

15-   Guto Bebb

16-   Simon Reevel

17-   John Leech

18-   Jenny Willott

19-   Annette Brooke

20-   Sharon Hodgson

21-   Baroness Uddin

22-   Lord Sasson

23-   Lord Palmer

24-   Lord Dholakia

25-   Simon Danczuk

26-   Richard benyon

27-   Jim Fitzpatrick

28-   Conor Burns

29-   George Freeman

30-   Bob Blackman

31-   Tobias Ellwood

32-   Don Foster

33-    James Duddridge

34-   Mark Field

35-   Angus MacNeil

36-   Jim Sheridan

37-   Andrew Stephenson

38-   Lord Courtdown

39-   Andrew Bingham

40-   Baroness Uddin

41-   Lord Clement-Jones

42-   Rory Stewart

43-   Jim Dobbin

44-   Simon Reevell

45-   Sir Alan Haselhurst

46-   Mike Hancock

47-   Lord Steel of Aikwood

48-   Graham Jones

49-   Paul Farrelly

50-   Anas Sarwar


Comments are closed.