All-Party Parliamentary Group on British Turks and Kurds Inaugural Meeting

All-Party Parliamentary Group on British Turks and Kurds inaugural meeting took place on 21st February 2018 in Committee Room 17 of the House of Commons.

The Centre for Turkey Studies (CEFTUS) has been appointed as secretariat.

Dan Carden MP has been elected as Chair of the APPG British Turks and Kurds. David Warburton MP, Catherine West MP, Sir David Amess MP, Tom Brake MP, Brendan O’Hara, Lord Glasman and Lord Watts have been elected as Vice-Chairs.

Joan Ryan MP, Tracy Brabin MP, Gerald Jones MP, Grahame Morris MP, Virendra Sharma MP, Fabian Hamilton MP, Chris Williamson MP, Alex Sobel MP, Gareth Thomas MP, Ruth Cadbury MP, Neil Coyle MP, Nick Thomas-Symonds MP, Siobhain McDonagh MP, Mike Hill MP, Chris Williamson MP, Tracy Brabin MP, John Mann MP, Emma Hardy MP, Rosie Duffield MP, Ian Lucas MP, Matthew Pennycook MP, Baroness Warsi, Baroness Harris and Lord Wallace have become members.

As secretariat of the All Party Parliamentary Group on British Turks and Kurds CEFTUS will:

  • Promote the work of the APPG in Parliament and beyond through traditional and social media
  • Endeavour to keep MPs and Peers informed on relevant topics through regular electronic briefings
  • Work to further links between the Turkish and Kurdish communities and their elected representatives at all levels
  • Provide administrative and technical support where necessary

APPG’s official purpose of statement is as below:

“To encourage debate and engage in discussion about issues affecting Britain’s Turkish and Kurdish communities. To celebrate the contribution and achievements of Britain’s Turkish and Kurdish communities”

In the inaugural meeting Lord Balfe, Member of APPG for the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, Gary Kent, Secretary of the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Kurdistan and Ibrahim Dogus, Director of CEFTUS were in attendance.